top of page
  • Writer's pictureClaire Pence, Author/Poet

A Dream Inside of a Dream

In the book, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, by C. S. Lewis, the children, while in Narnia, remember their life in the real world as if it had been a dream. That line from the story always reminds me of some of my dreams, the ones I sometimes have of being back on my grandparents' farm where I grew up and spent much of my childhood. They are so vivid with all the people, scenes, colors and smells that I often try to remember when I reminisce. I am always at perfect peace, and there is never anything hurtful, painful, or sorrowful in my dreams, as if anything negative has been filtered out. My real life, of which I am aware, seems to me like a dream inside of a dream.

What a mystery dreams are! Scientists tell us they come from our subconscious brain, but they can't explain how some people have dreams and premonitions about future events, or how people sometimes dream in accurate details about places they have never seen or people they have never met. Then, there are all of those wonderful dreams in scripture. There is Joseph's dream of bowing sheaves, and another Joseph's dream from God to tell him about the child that Mary was carrying, and so many more.

We are told in scripture that God will wipe away all tears. (Isaiah 25:8) I've always wondered how God is going to heal our bruised hearts, broken dreams, and the terrible sorrow we feel for those we love who are lost. I wonder sometimes, and it is purely speculation, if we will only remember this life like a dream inside of a dream, if all the sorrow and hurt will be filtered out, and only the sweetness and beauty will remain. It's just a lovely speculation. However, only a mighty and loving God is able to wipe away all the tears of this world. How blessed his children are going to be.



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page